Quick facts about Estonia

Official name: Republic of Estonia
Head of State: President
Constitution: passed on 28th of June 1992 (4.)
Government: Parliamentary Republic, single chamber Parliament (Riigikogu) of 101 members
Currency: Euro (since 01.01.2011)
National Day: Independence Day, 24 February

Area: 45,227 square km
Capital: Tallinn (393,000)
Other Major Cities: Tartu (97,600), Narva (58,600), Kohtla-Järve (37,200), Pärnu (39,700)

Population: 1.340 million; in towns 65%, in rural municipalities 35%
Language: Estonian. Other languages such as English, Russian and Finnish are also widely spoken.
Ethnic groups: Estonians 69%, Russians 26%, Ukrainians 2%.
Main Religion: Lutheran
Major Natural Resources: Timber, oil shale, phosphorite, peat, limestone, dolomite

Estonia is divided into 15 counties, 194 rural municipalities and 33 towns
Time Zone: GMT + 2 hours
Distance from Tallinn: Helsinki 85 km, Riga 307 km, St. Petersburg 395 km, Stockholm 405 km, Vilnius 605 km
Flight times: Helsinki 35 min, Stockholm 1 h, Copenhagen 1 h 30 min,
Moscow 1 h 40 min, Amsterdam 2 h 20 min, London 2 h 45 min
Climate: The climate in Estonia is temperate, characterised by warm summers and fairly severe winters. The weather is often breezy and humid due to the proximity of the Baltic Sea. Average temperatures range from 20.9° C in summer (usually July is the hottest month) to - 8°C in winter. Although occasionally the temperature may rise to 30°C and above in summer or sink below - 23°C in winter, it is very usual at our latitude.


President of Estonia: www.president.ee
Riigikogu (the Parliament): www.riigikogu.ee
Government: www.valitsus.ee
e-Estonia - The Digital Society: www.e-estonia.com
Estonica - Encyclopedia about Estonia: www.estonica.org
State Portal: www.eesti.ee
Visit Estoniawww.visitestonia.com
Investments in Estoniawww.investinestonia.com
Estonian exportwww.estonianexport.ee
Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairswww.vm.ee